Mendeley - reference management tool

Adding citations to your text

You will get the most out of Mendeley if you use the tool Mendeley Cite. This tool is compatible with Word365, Word 2016, and the Microsoft Word application on Ipad, as well as with more recent versions of these. This is how you add an in-text citation with Mendeley Cite:

• Open your document in Word.
• Log in to your Mendeley account. You will find Mendeley Cite under References -> Mendeley Cite.
• Move the cursor to the point in the text where you want to add the reference.
• Select your reference from Mendeley Cite and click on Insert citation. The citation will appear at the location of your cursor.
• Click on Citation Style to choose the right referencing style for your citations.

Double-check that the reference contains all necessary details! This is especially important if you are using Mendeley Web Importer.

Creating and inserting a bibliography

Before you create a bibliography, check for duplicates in your Mendeley library. Any duplicates there might appear twice in your bibliography as well. This is how you create and insert a bibliography:

• Move the cursor to the point in your text where you want to insert the bibliography.
• Click on More (...) -> Insert Bibliography. The bibliography will be added to your text and Mendeley Cite will keep updating your bibliography as you add more citations.
• If you make changes to the details of any references in Mendeley, you can update your bibliography by clicking on More -> Update from Library.

Choosing referencing style

Click on Citation Style to select a referencing style for your citations. Mendeley offers nearly 7000 different referencing styles. At Arcada we use American Psychological Association (APA) 7th Edition. Students who began their studies before we switched to APA 7, can use Harvard.