LibGuides: Library Services for Arcada Staff: Databases

Databases A-Z

Arcada Library provides access to these scholarly databases. To access the databases you need to log in with your Arcada credentials.

ABI/INFORM Öppnas i nytt fönster ProQuest ABI Inform provides articles and abstracts dealing with public and private companies, industry research, marketing and advertising, finance and human resources. Subject headings: business, economics, management, social sciences, ekonomiska vetenskaper, ledarskap (verksamhetsledning), företagsverksamhet, samhällsvetenskaper
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Öppnas i nytt fönster Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database including full-text periodicals and peer-reviewed journals. Also indexing and abstracts for journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Subject headings: interdisciplinary research, economics, social sciences, nursing science, humanistic sciences, technical sciences, tvärvetenskap, ekonomiska vetenskaper, samhällsvetenskaper, vårdvetenskap, humanistiska vetenskaper, tekniska vetenskaper
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) Öppnas i nytt fönster EBSCOhost includes databases: Business Source Elite (BSE), CINAHL, GreenFILE, ERIC, Regional Business News & Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts. Full text nursing & allied health journals.
Cochrane Library Öppnas i nytt fönster The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Subject headings: evidence-based medicine, health care, evidensbaserad behandling, hälso- och sjukvård
Dynamic Health Öppnas i nytt fönster Dynamic Health is an evidence-based resource that helps nurses and allied health professionals master critical skills. Includes current, actionable information about core nursing competencies, transcultural care, patient training, occupational therapy, physical therapy, speech therapy, nutrition and dietetics, social work and so much more.
Emerald Öppnas i nytt fönster E-articles and serials, series and e-books. Subjects: management, strategy, leadership, marketing and human resources management, engineering, technical sciences and social sciences. All journals in this collection are peer-reviewed.
ERIC - The Education Resources Information Center Öppnas i nytt fönster The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a digital library of education-related resources. The collection includes both full-text articles and references. It is a comprehensive, easy-to-use, bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information.
Medic Öppnas i nytt fönster Inhemsk hälsovetenskaplig referensdatabas som omfattar medicin och vårdvetenskap samt den biovetenskapliga litteraturen, som ansluter sig till medicin. Allt som är publicerat i Finland inom detta område medtages oberoende av språk. Finnish reference database of health sciences.
OTseeker - Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence Öppnas i nytt fönster OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability. OTseeker innehåller information om studier inom ergoterapi.
Pedro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database Öppnas i nytt fönster The Physiotherapy Evidence Database (=PEDro) is a free, web-based database of evidence relevant to physiotherapy. PEDro contains citations of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines relevant to physiotherapy. Where possible, abstracts and links to full-text versions of the documents are also provided. PEDro är en fritt tillgänglig databas som innehåller referenser inom fysioterapi.
PubMed Öppnas i nytt fönster PubMed gives access to references from international journals in medicine, nursing, odontology, veterinary medicine, health services and biomedical research Ämnen: medicin, vårdarbete, veterinärmedicin, hälsovårdstjänster och bioanalytik
Sage Öppnas i nytt fönster SAGE Publications publishes journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. Articles published starting from 1999 are in fulltext, and of articles older than this there are abstracts. Tvärvetenskaplig databas. Ämnen: affärsverksamhet, humanvetenskaper, samhällsvetenskaper,
ScienceDirect Öppnas i nytt fönster Covers the fields of medicine, natural sciences, engineering, economics, environmental science, arts, humanities and social sciences. Includes reference information and e-journals. Tvärvetenskaplig databas. Ämnen: naturvetenskaper, ingenjörskonst, ekonomi, miljövetenskaper, konst, humanvetenskaper.
SFS Online Öppnas i nytt fönster SFS-standarder: Elteknik och gummi- och plastindustri. SFS Standards: Rubber and plastics industries, electrotechnics.
SportDiscus (EBSCO) Öppnas i nytt fönster SPORTDiscus covers the fields of sport, exercise, fitness, sports medicine, and other sports related disciplines. Ämnen: bl.a. idrottsmedicin, konditionsträning
SpringerLink Öppnas i nytt fönster SpringerLink is an online information service for scientific journals and documents, covering various subject areas: behavioral sciences, business and economics, social sciences, chemistry and material science etc. The journals are peer reviewed. Tvärvetenskaplig databas för vetenskapliga tidskrifter och andra dokument. Ämnen: bl.a. samhällsvetenskaper, ekonomi och affärsverksamhet, materialteknik
Terveysportti Öppnas i nytt fönster Terveysportti is a portal in Finnish with information for the health sector. Terveysportti är en inhemsk portal för hälsovårdsbranschen.

More databases

See the subject specific Libguides to learn what databases are the most important in different fields of study.

Libguides according to subject

Dictionaries

Here you can find dictionaries and other tools to translate both single words and longer texts.

Redfox This link opens in a new window
Redfox Master is one of the most comprehensive language web services in the world. The dictionary alone includes a total of 41 languages, more than 24.1 million entries and 23 million useful example sentences. In addition to dictionaries, Redfox Master also includes video lessons, a text translation and proofreading tool, and much more.

Glosbe
Glosbe is a free dictionary with a large number of different languages to translate between.
Sanakirja.org
Sanakirja.org is a free dictionary with a large number of different languages to translate between.
Deepl
Deepl is an AI-based translation tool, also suitable for longer texts.

Encyclopedias

Use encyclopedias to find quality checked facts.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window Encyclopædia Britannica Online service contains dictionaries and encyclopedias, and also provides access to articles and pictures.
Internet encyclopedia of philosophy This link opens in a new window Provides detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of academic philosophy.

Medical Encyclopedia The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes ca 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.

Nationalencyklopedin This link opens in a new window Elektronisk version av det svenska uppslagsverket Nationalencyklopedin (NE)

All Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Thesauruses

Use of Electronic Resources and Remote Access

The electronic resources are available in the network of Arcada university or through remote access. Remote access requires the Arcada user ID and password.

Licence Agreements

Some of the electronic resources are licensed through the FinELib (The Finnish National Electronic Library) consortium. The terms of use for each of these databases are defined in the licence agreements, and all users must conform to them. Information about the individual licenses of the databases are listed in FinELib with information about the user rights for each database.

FinElib database licence agreements