International Databases in Healthcare and Leadership
These are the key international scholarly databases within nursing, healthcare and leadership, provided by Arcada Library:
- ABI/INFORM Öppnas i nytt fönster ProQuest ABI Inform provides articles and abstracts dealing with public and private companies, industry research, marketing and advertising, finance and human resources. Subject headings: business, economics, management, social sciences, ekonomiska vetenskaper, ledarskap (verksamhetsledning), företagsverksamhet, samhällsvetenskaper
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Öppnas i nytt fönster Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database including full-text periodicals and peer-reviewed journals. Also indexing and abstracts for journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Subject headings: interdisciplinary research, economics, social sciences, nursing science, humanistic sciences, technical sciences, tvärvetenskap, ekonomiska vetenskaper, samhällsvetenskaper, vårdvetenskap, humanistiska vetenskaper, tekniska vetenskaper
- CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) Öppnas i nytt fönster EBSCOhost includes databases: Business Source Elite (BSE), CINAHL, GreenFILE, ERIC, Regional Business News & Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts. Full text nursing & allied health journals.
- Cochrane Library Öppnas i nytt fönster The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Subject headings: evidence-based medicine, health care, evidensbaserad behandling, hälso- och sjukvård
- Emerald Öppnas i nytt fönster E-articles and serials, series and e-books. Subjects: management, strategy, leadership, marketing and human resources management, engineering, technical sciences and social sciences. All journals in this collection are peer-reviewed.
- PubMed Öppnas i nytt fönster PubMed gives access to references from international journals in medicine, nursing, odontology, veterinary medicine, health services and biomedical research Ämnen: medicin, vårdarbete, veterinärmedicin, hälsovårdstjänster och bioanalytik
- Sage Öppnas i nytt fönster SAGE Publications publishes journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. Articles published starting from 1999 are in fulltext, and of articles older than this there are abstracts. Tvärvetenskaplig databas. Ämnen: affärsverksamhet, humanvetenskaper, samhällsvetenskaper,
- ScienceDirect Öppnas i nytt fönster Covers the fields of medicine, natural sciences, engineering, economics, environmental science, arts, humanities and social sciences. Includes reference information and e-journals. Tvärvetenskaplig databas. Ämnen: naturvetenskaper, ingenjörskonst, ekonomi, miljövetenskaper, konst, humanvetenskaper.
- SportDiscus (EBSCO) Öppnas i nytt fönster SPORTDiscus covers the fields of sport, exercise, fitness, sports medicine, and other sports related disciplines. Ämnen: bl.a. idrottsmedicin, konditionsträning
- SpringerLink Öppnas i nytt fönster SpringerLink is an online information service for scientific journals and documents, covering various subject areas: behavioral sciences, business and economics, social sciences, chemistry and material science etc. The journals are peer reviewed. Tvärvetenskaplig databas för vetenskapliga tidskrifter och andra dokument. Ämnen: bl.a. samhällsvetenskaper, ekonomi och affärsverksamhet, materialteknik
Nordic Databases in Nursing and Healthcare
These databases provide publications from the Nordic countries within the fields of nursing and healthcare:
- Medic Öppnas i nytt fönster Inhemsk hälsovetenskaplig referensdatabas som omfattar medicin och vårdvetenskap samt den biovetenskapliga litteraturen, som ansluter sig till medicin. Allt som är publicerat i Finland inom detta område medtages oberoende av språk. Finnish reference database of health sciences.
- SveMed+ Öppnas i nytt fönster A bibliographic database containing references to articles from Scandinavian journals in the fields of medicine, dentistry, health care, occupational therapy, nursing and physiotherapy. Full text links exist. SveMed+ innehåller referenser till nordiska artiklar inom det medicinska området. Förutom biomedicin bevakas patientinformation och icke kliniska aspekter av hälso- och sjukvård.
Terveysportti
Terveysportti is a portal in Finnish with information for the health sector, published by Duodecim. It also contains some English medical journals in fulltext such as BMJ, Lancet and NEJM.
- Terveysportti Öppnas i nytt fönster Terveysportti is a portal in Finnish with information for the health sector. Terveysportti är en inhemsk portal för hälsovårdsbranschen.
Dictionaries
Here you can find dictionaries and other tools to translate both single words and longer texts.
- Redfox This link opens in a new windowRedfox Master is one of the most comprehensive language web services in the world. The dictionary alone includes a total of 41 languages, more than 24.1 million entries and 23 million useful example sentences. In addition to dictionaries, Redfox Master also includes video lessons, a text translation and proofreading tool, and much more.
- GlosbeGlosbe is a free dictionary with a large number of different languages to translate between.
- Sanakirja.orgSanakirja.org is a free dictionary with a large number of different languages to translate between.
- DeeplDeepl is an AI-based translation tool, also suitable for longer texts.
Encyclopedias and Thesauruses
Use Encyclopedias to find peer reviewed facts and information. Thesauruses help you find the right keywords for your information searches in databases.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online Öppnas i nytt fönster Encyclopædia Britannica Online service contains dictionaries and encyclopedias, and also provides access to articles and pictures.
- Medical Encyclopedia The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes ca 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
- MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) is the NLM controlled vocabulary thesaurus used for indexing articles for PubMed.
- Swedish MeSH The thesaurus MeSH® (Medical Subject Headings) helps you find key words for your database searches within the field of medicine and nursing. The Swedish Mesh has been supplemented with Swedish translations.
- Hoidokki Hoidokki is a thesaurus published by the Finnish Foundation of Nursing Education (SHKS) at 2005. Hoidokki can be used to search and to index publications of nursing science
- Finto Finto is a Finnish thesaurus and ontology service.
Use of Electronic Resources and Remote Access
The electronic resources are available in the network of Arcada university or through remote access. Remote access requires the Arcada user ID and password.
Licence Agreements
Some of the electronic resources are licensed through the FinELib (The Finnish National Electronic Library) consortium. The terms of use for each of these databases are defined in the licence agreements, and all users must conform to them. Information about the individual licenses of the databases are listed in FinELib with information about the user rights for each database.