Welcome to the Libguide on e-books
Did you know that the Arcada Library offers you more than 600.000 e-books! This guide helps you get started with using e-books.
E-book Collections
E-books are digitized books that can be read on a computer, mobile or e-book reader. Arcada’s e-books are available on several platforms. Note that the selection and user agreements of the different platforms differ from each other.
- Ebook Central Öppnas i nytt fönster Ebook Central is a collection of over 100 000 full-text books in multiple subject areas
- Elib Öppnas i nytt fönster E-books and audiobooks mostly in swedish but also in english. Both fiction and non-fiction. E-böcker och ljudböcker främst på svenska, men också på engelska. Både skön- och faktalitteratur.
- DOAB -Directory of Open Access Books Öppnas i nytt fönster E-böcker/E-books >29000 Academic peer-reviewed books from over 380 publishers
- INTECH - Science, Technology and Medicine open access publisher Öppnas i nytt fönster
- OAPEN Library Öppnas i nytt fönster The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.
Search for e-books through Arcada Finna
You can find e-books from the following collections through Arcada Finna:
- Ebook Central
- Ebsco ebooks
E-books from other collections are not found through Arcada Finna. You need to access each platform separately to open e-books from other collections.
Search the Arcada Finna Library Catalogue
Dictionaries
Here you can find dictionaries and other tools to translate both single words and longer texts.
- Redfox This link opens in a new windowRedfox Master is one of the most comprehensive language web services in the world. The dictionary alone includes a total of 41 languages, more than 24.1 million entries and 23 million useful example sentences. In addition to dictionaries, Redfox Master also includes video lessons, a text translation and proofreading tool, and much more.
- GlosbeGlosbe is a free dictionary with a large number of different languages to translate between.
- Sanakirja.orgSanakirja.org is a free dictionary with a large number of different languages to translate between.
- DeeplDeepl is an AI-based translation tool, also suitable for longer texts.
Encyclopedias
Use encyclopedias to find quality checked facts.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window Encyclopædia Britannica Online service contains dictionaries and encyclopedias, and also provides access to articles and pictures.
- Internet encyclopedia of philosophy This link opens in a new window Provides detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of academic philosophy.
- Medical Encyclopedia The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes ca 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
- Nationalencyklopedin This link opens in a new window Elektronisk version av det svenska uppslagsverket Nationalencyklopedin (NE)
Use of Electronic Resources and Remote Access
The electronic resources are available in the network of Arcada university or through remote access. Remote access requires the Arcada user ID and password.
Licence Agreements
Some of the electronic resources are licensed through the FinELib (The Finnish National Electronic Library) consortium. The terms of use for each of these databases are defined in the licence agreements, and all users must conform to them. Information about the individual licenses of the databases are listed in FinELib with information about the user rights for each database.
Is something missing?
If you need a book or a journal article that is not available from the Arcada library collections, you can make an acquisition proposal (form below) or order the book/article through our interlibrary loan services by sending us an e-mail (library at arcada.fi).