Instructions for e-books
Instructions for e-books
The table below gives you an overview of the differences between the e-book collections and how to use them.
|
|
 |
|
 |
 |
|
| Content |
Contains more than 20.000 e-books and audio books. Mostly books in Swedish but also some in English, both fiction and non-fiction. |
Contains about 185.000 e-books from different disciplines. Books in English, only non-fiction. |
Books in English, only non-fiction. A small collection. |
Books from Finnish publishers. Non-fiction. A small collection.
|
Contains about 520.000 e-books from different disciplines. Books in English, only non-fiction |
| Where can I find the books? |
Books in Elib can be found through the Libguides or directly on http://arcada.elib.se Course books available in Elib can also be found in Arcada Finna. |
Books in Ebook Central can be found through the Libguides or Arcada Finna.
|
Books in Ebsco can be found through the Libguides, Arcada Finna or directly on Ebsco |
Books in Ellibs can be found through the Libguides or directly on Ellibs |
Books in Perlego can be found through the Libguides or directly on Perlego |
|
How to log in?
|
With Arcada’s library card. Log in with your library card number and your PIN-code. |
Through Arcada Finna or the Libguides. Log in on remote with your Arcada user name and password. |
Log in on remote with your Arcada user name and password.
|
Log in with your Arcada user name and password. |
Register with your Arcada e-mail address and the code for your institution. Contact the Arcada library in case you do not know what code to use. |
|
Read e-books on a computer (PC, Mac) |
Most of the e-books can be read in your web browser. The books can also be downloaded and read offline, except from Arcada’s computers if you are a student.
For downloading e-books you need: - the reading software Adobe Digital Editions
|
The books can be read directly in the web browser. Most of the books can also be downloaded and read offline, except from Arcada’s computers if you are a student.
For downloading e-books you need: - the reading software Adobe Digital Editions, in case you want to download an entire book. Single chapters can be printed or downloaded as PDF-files - a user account in Ebook Central (Sign In > Create account) |
The books can be read directly in the web browser. The books can also be downloaded and read offline, except from Arcada’s computers if you are a student. For downloading e-books you need: - the reading software Adobe Digital Editions - a user account in Ebsco |
The books can be read directly in the web browser. The books can also be downloaded and read offline, except from Arcada’s computers if you are a student.
For downloading e-books you need: - the reading software Adobe Digital Editions |
The books can be read directly in the web browser. |
|
Read e-books on iPad or iPhone
|
- Biblio app (from AppStore) or - the reading app Bluefire Reader - Adobe-ID |
- Adobe Digital Editions - an Ebook Central-account (Sign In > Create account) |
- the reading app Ebsco Ebooks - an Ebsco-account |
- Ellibs app (from AppStore) |
- Perlego app (from AppStore) |
|
Read e-books on Android (smart phone/ tablet) |
- Biblio app (from Google Play) |
- Adobe Digital Editions - an Ebook Central-account (Sign In > Create account) |
- the reading app Ebsco Ebooks - an Ebsco-account |
- Ellibs app (from Google Play) |
- Perlego app (from Google Play) |
|
Listen to audio books (smart phone/ tablet) |
- Biblio app (from Google Play / AppStore)
it is also possible to listen offline |
||||
|
Listen to audio books (PC/Mac) |
Audio books can be listened to online as streamed audio. | ||||
| Loan period |
After 28 days the file will stop working, but the e-book can be borrowed again. Unlimited simultaneous users. |
If you have downloaded the book: Unlimited simultaneous users for most of the titles. |
Normally 1 or 3 simultaneous users. 1-7 days, if you have downloaded the book. |
Normally 7 or 14 days depending on title Different number of copies of the titles available for borrowing Possible to reserve titles that are on loan, also possible to return titles
|
Unlimited access to all titles, unlimited simultaneous users. |
| Printing | Printing is not allowed |
How many pages you are allowed to print depends on the title |
How many pages you are allowed to print depends on the title |
Printing is not allowed | Printing is not allowed |
| More information | FAQ |
|
Instructions | FAQ |
What if it doesn't work?
Contact the library via biblioteket(at)arcada.fi. Try to answer the following questions before you contact us. This makes it easier for us to help you:
- Which e-book collection did you try to use (e.g. Ebook Central, Ebsco)?
- Where did you find the link to the e-book?
- Did you try to use the e-book collection at Arcada or on remote?
- If you were at Arcada, did you use a stationary computer or a laptop?
- Which WLAN did you use (eduroam, arcada-guest, arcada-secure)?
- Did you try to login which your Arcada ID or with your library card number?
- What error message did you get?
- Take screenshots if you can